Stop it!

I’m thinking some explanation would be good. I haven’t decided quite what I’m going to do but feel like it’s time to start a different project. Of course, I tend to do this often, so even I don’t know how long it will last, but there have been things going on that kind of follow a theme for me.

I’m not sure where it started, but it may have been when I flipped out last month and decided I wasn’t going to smoke anymore. I came to the conclusion that most so-called addiction is really mostly habit. It’s not a genuine addiction but a compulsion. It is the habit pull that is hardest to break, and you simply have to be either very stubborn or very determined in a way that once you make a decision, your integrity depends upon you sticking to it.

It’s been over a month and I can’t say I miss it. It’s a ridiculous habit that has no benefit and plenty of cons. I understand that there are debates within the “quit community” (everything is a faux-community now) but I speak of my own experience as well as simple logic. The only way to quit smoking is to stop putting cigarettes in your mouth and lighting them. It’s truly that simple. Anything else strikes me as so much rationalization and excuses to keep smoking. I’d go so far as to say this applies to any habit one wants to dispense with: then dispense with it! In the words of Bob Newhart, stop it!

This is a longish digression from the reason I sat down to write, though. There are a lot of backed up ideas and thoughts that are trying to get out but it can be hard to know where to start, so I’ve started here. The theme at the moment is “cleaning up”, which has physical and mental/spiritual aspects that I hope to tie together as simply as possible. I have inspired a couple of people in my offline life to get decluttering and am inspired to keep going with my own project.

I will say one thing though; the physical and the mental affect each other in turn. Obvious as it may be, if you do not feel inspired but do it anyway, the will tends to come along eventually in spite of itself. I will tell the story of my own family’s crap that kind of started this whole theme, as well as other changes in habits, and perhaps do a different (for me) kind of writing. I have grown totally weary of the kind of thing I’ve done in the past and, in the spirit of clearing out the crap, I am seeing how a revamp or relaunch of this blog goes. Experimental stages for now. I might need a friendlier looking picture, but I’m not a big smile for the camera kind of gal. ☺

To be continued…

7 thoughts on “Stop it!

  1. Reblogged this on Things I Wish I’d Known Sooner and commented:
    Annasach echos some thoughts I have been having about a few things. Since I am low on time -summer school is starting on June 1st here- I’ll poach her thoughts and hopefully have something of worth to say later.

    Like

Leave a Reply

